Wel­come, Guest
User­name: Pass­word: Remem­ber me

TOPIC: A few ques­tions about Lesser Mysteries

A few ques­tions about Lesser Mys­ter­ies 2 years 8 months ago #3598

• Tamer­lin
  • Thank you received: 7
Hello,

I’m new to Blade and haven’t tested it live with my play­ers yet.
How­ever, I surely enjoy the com­bat rules (at last, real­is­tic rules in a RPG!).

Upon read­ing the Sor­cery sec­tion, and not being a native Eng­lish speaker although quite flu­ent, I have a few ques­tions regard­ing Lesser Mys­ter­ies.

Curse
I’m not sure I got the dif­fer­ence between the two types of curses described in the book.
If I under­stand cor­rectly:
– the first type of curses is “gen­eral bad luck /​evil eye”: any­time some­thing bad can hap­pen to your char­ac­ter, you suf­fer the effect from the curse PA.
– the sec­ond type of curses is more spe­cific like for instance “I curse you to never return home” in which case the curse PA would apply to the character’s attempts to find his way home or to encoun­ters on his way.
Do I get it roughly right? (Excuse the poor choice of exam­ples, if some­one has bet­ter ones to pro­vide, be my guest!)

Scry­ing
Is the Detect Sor­cery check to detect the pres­ence of a scry­ing con­scious­ness an Opposed Check?
I am con­fused because it states that the SY check is Unop­posed for a sor­cerer know­ing the Scry­ing Mys­tery.

Witch­fire
What’s the use of the table dis­played page 209?

Thank you in advance!
Last Edit: 2 years 8 months ago by Tamer­lin.
The admin­is­tra­tor has dis­abled pub­lic write access.

A few ques­tions about Lesser Mys­ter­ies 2 years 8 months ago #3600

• Michael
  • Thank you received: 517
Hello and wel­come to the board, Tamer­lin! :) Do I gather from your forum name that you, too, are a fan of Tal­is­lanta? In that case, twice wel­come (not that you’re unwel­come oth­er­wise).

Tamer­lin wrote:
Curse
Do I get it roughly right?